Aperture vs iPhoto opinions

Reaction score
Relatively new switcher here, new to the forum as well. Just wondering what people's opinions are when it comes to choosing between Aperture and iPhoto. One comes free with OSX, and I like it, but I'm a photography hobbyist. Tried out the Aperture free demo, it seems as if iPhoto is more intuitive?

Some words of advice from someone who has used one or the other for at least a year would be great! Just to see how the apps stand long term use, and how practical they are.

Much Appreciated

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" 5k imac i7, 295x
i havnt been useing either for year, but isn't Aperture more of a comparison to Photoshop?

i thought aperture is a photo editing program

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
Nope, both Aperture and iPhoto are in the same space - post work flow image organization, cataloging, etc. Both include rudimentary image editing tools but this is not their key focus. Photoshop on the other hand is ALL about image editing, with Adobe Bridge being their organizing, cataloging add on. They also offer Lightroom in this space, as a direct competitor to Aperture.

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
i prefer adobe bridge (bundled with ps elements - or ps).

Reaction score
Yeah, you can't compare Aperture with Photoshop, they are 2 different programs which do different things. Photoshop is for editing pictures and Aperture is for more retouching and changing brightness and etc., like mac57 said.

OP
K
Reaction score
Thats why I'm having a hard time deciding, both are great programs, but it seems a bit unnecessary to be using both in tandem. I'm looking more for opinions on which is better for some quick touch up work after shooting, and of course for organizing libraries/albums/etc.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, 30 GB iPod Video
If Aperture and iPhoto are so similar, then what is the incentive to spend the extra money?