• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Best conversion programs??

Reaction score
I am new to Mac and I am looking for a highly reccomended video conversion program. I want to be able to convert files to ipod mpeg4 format, as well as multiple other formats?

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15, 1Gb RAM, 100GBHD, 2 Perfoma636CD, Apple, Apple IIe, + 2 PC, XP Pro 64bit, & ThinkPad
Handbreak(FREE), the full one, not instant. Of course instant is good if you have no idea what you are doing.

I also use QuickTime Pro.

OP
A
Reaction score
I have Visual Hub, however I have problems with it. I am trying to convert all these mkv files into ipod format, and it pretty much just freezes up on file 2 84 minutes when I try to do it...

Is this the best program to be using for mkv conversion?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I don't even know what an .mkv file is....

Reaction score
I am new to Mac and I am looking for a highly reccomended video conversion program. I want to be able to convert files to ipod mpeg4 format, as well as multiple other formats?

Any suggestions?

Thanks