Some advice please...

S

Seeker

Hello everyone,

I've been a PC user all my life. Pretty advanced. But also incredibly frustrated with the perennial instability and the general lack of positive computing experience as a whole.

Definitely considering switching. Can't afford a PB, thinking of an 12in Ibook. Like the portability f/r.

Well aware of the MHz Myth, but still would an 800MHz G4 Ibook, 640 DDR SDRAM, 60GB HD, ISight and ,Mac be enough to fit my purposes?

I'm a student with a tight budget but will definitely be very much into the 'digital lifestyle' with music, photos, videos, online stuff, but not much gaming. I'm looking for smoothness, rock-solid stability, and ease of use.

Any advice from the die-hard mac converts out there?

esp. since I heard in June, stuff will prob get better. very afraid that if I get it now I'll only be getting somthing tt gets obsolete practically immediately (like how the 12in ibook occupies the lower end of processor specs). can't afford to wait though. need some time to get used to it b4 school.

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro 3.0Ghz 16GB RAM, 4x256 Vid, 30''cinema display
yea that should work fine... but make sure you know what your doing with buying .Mac (like if u have a use for it)... i think its useless.

OP
S

supenguin

12 ibook

From what you said about what you're doing with a Mac, a G4 ibook would be great. I bought a g3 ibook 12" a little over a week ago. Itunes is great, the dvd player is smooth. I've seen some people on the forums do photoshop and video editing on it. A nice added bonus, Warcraft III and Unreal Tournament 2003 both work very nicely if I turn down the detail level a bit. Everything works except the very latest first-person shooters. Oh yeah, what the other guys said, make sure the software you use runs on Mac too.