Which Powerbook

Reaction score
Hi all,
I wonder if someone can give me some advise. Recently I decided that I need a laptop. Now I've been thinking of getting a Mac for some time now. Whilst out browsing for my new buy I started playing around with the powerbooks. Now I have a few questions about them.

Firstly, I've been told that it takes an age to burn a dvd on the superdrive with the PBs. As I already have a dvd-writer with my PCs I think I can get away without the superdrive. Is the superdrive a good option? How long does it take to copy a full dvd? (for personal use only). Also is the speed difference between the 2 different 15" PBs worth the extra cost?

Secondly, as I have an existing PC network at home that the rest of the family uses, it is quite important that I can netowrk the mac with the PCs to share the internet connection. I've heard this is easy but can anyone who has already done this tell me how easy it is? (The PCs are running XP pro). Do i need to purchase any additional software for either the PCs or the mac to enable easy networking?

Playing games isn't a big issue for me, but just for my info, can you get any good games on the mac?

Thanks in advance

F

Fomer

Def make the switch, you sound like a perfect canidate. (And I don't throw that to everyone)

I don't have a dvd burner as I opted for the Combo drive. But my cd burner burns quickly! I can get a cd in minutes. And have made data disc with 700 mb in minutes.

So unless DVD burning is super important to you, I'd go with the combo drive!

Well I swear to you IMO you cant tell enough difference in .25 GHZ. But the bakc lit keyboard and dvd burner might make it worth it to you... If so I guess its worth it, but the SD is/was too much for my pockets.

Yes they can network, but the rest of the questions in networking I know nothing about. Leave that to someone else.