As a Noob, I think I've come to the right place...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, 2GHz Intel Core Duo, 1GB RAM, 80 GB HD
New Mac user here... I received my MacBook this past Monday. I've found a couple good programs, but have a few questions about things, and this looks like the place where I can lump questions together. So... Thanks in advance!

Adium: Keeps crashing, every time I attempt to send an IM. Should I re-install it? I love this program so far (well, when it worked).

Entourage: Any Gmail users here? I can receive, but not send my mail. Any specific setting I may have missed in Gmail's tutorial?

Safari: Is there any way to make folders appear in the dropdown bookmarks tab, if they are not in the Bookmarks Bar? Similar to how Firefox and IE do it?

Imaging: iPhoto doesn't do everything I want to do. However, I'm not really pro enough to spend big money on Photoshop or Aperture. I sadly enough could use MS Paint for most of my imaging needs. I also don't like that when I tried to sync my 4,000 photos to browse in dashboard, it didn't keep them in folders... unless there is something I am missing. Is there any freeware, or cheap recommended software?

So far I really like my Mac. And as a long time Windows user I already don't miss right click. :) I think that is about it... If I have asked a FAQ, please steer me in the right direction.

In the future I plan of waiting for Leopard, and a final version of boot camp. I'm still undecided about running Vista or XP with it, but I do plan on this Mac lasting me a few good years. Comments appreciated.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Adium: Keeps crashing, every time I attempt to send an IM. Should I re-install it? I love this program so far (well, when it worked).

Try repairing permissions first, if that doesn't help then reinstall the app.

Entourage: Any Gmail users here? I can receive, but not send my mail. Any specific setting I may have missed in Gmail's tutorial?