20" or 24"

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2 iMacs 17+20" 2.16GHz 2GB RAM 500MB HDD 256MB Graphic card. 60Gig 5th gen iPod with Video
Hi,
I have a choice to make........

A
20" 2.16GHz iMac
with following specs
2Gig RAM
500GB HD
Graphic card 256
Wireless Keyboard and Mouse

Or
24" 2.16GHz iMac
1GB RAM
250GB HD
Graphic Card 128MB
Standard Keyboard and mouse

The price is about the same

The HD size may no be a problem as I'm thinking of an Extern HD anyway.
I Know the 24" has an 800 firewire port (I presume it's faster than the 400 version and that the screen is 30% brighter.

If I choose the 24" with the above specs can I upgrade at a later date ?

Can I do this myself (I'm a technician in Automatic systems)

Am I sacrificing spec for "Bling" ?

I will use the iMac for Photo work and hobbies that I have

Any input would help

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac's
I had the same dilema... I chose the 20". I could not be happier with my choice. Once I got the 20" in my house, I was still saying... "oh my, this is BIG". The 24", for me anyway, would be WAY too big, and really look out of place in my home. Don't get me wrong, I think the 24" is very nice, but simply not practical for me. It really boils down to what you are really wanting. I had thought "If I get the 20", I'll always be wondering if I should have got the 24"... This was simply not the case, I am thrilled w/ the 20", and am so glad that I didn't get the 24".

I hope my rambling helps you a bit.

:)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 24", 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1GB Ram, 250Gb HDD nVidia GeForce 7600 GT 256MB