Mac Pro or iMac 24....

Reaction score
I have never owned a Mac before so I am really new to them. I am considering going form the PC world to Mac and just wanted some suggestions. I will be editing photos, video on a personal basis. Nothing heavy duty just personal stuff for fun. I realize both machines may be over kill but I hate buying down and then need more speed in a year or so as I have experienced with PCs. Any other suggestions, and will the iMacs do everything I am looking for? They seem to be pretty fast and powerful.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Go with the consumer level machine.

NOTE: moved thread to proper forum

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac G5, 4G 40gb, G4 iBook
I would go with the iMac since you aren't doing anything TOO heavy duty. If you decide later on that you are going to do some more demanding work then just add some more RAM and you will be more then fine.

Best of luck
John

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 20" C2D, 2 Gig.
iMac, since you'll be doing all these for fun. you will enjoy the bigger screen that the iMac provides.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
Tough, tough choice. I think it comes down to what you get for the money. If I were making the same choice today I would go for the 24" iMac. You get a 2.33 GHz processor, a 24" display and the usual dollops of RAM and disk. Fitted out with 2 GB of RAM and 500 MB of disk, it comes in at about $2500. If you go with the Mac Pro and try to achieve a similar result, you will spend closer to $4000. 23" and 24" monitors seems to be in the $1000 to $1200 region and the Mac Pro itself will run you $2500 or more. The difference in processor speed (2.33 GHz vs. 2.66 GHz) wouldn't seem to justify the cost differential. Now I know that some bright soul will pipe in that I can't just compare GHz - one machine is a Xeon and one is a Woodcrest, but my expectation is that you would not notice the difference.