powerbook vs macbook

G

gazamanga

Hi!

After many years of whining about my pc, windows and everything else have decided to try out the world of Mac.

However don't have a large budget at the moment!

So.. with this in mind (and for reasons to dull to explain only laptop will do) my obvious choice appears to be the base macbook (13" 1.83GHz). However one of the local stores is selling off Powerbook G4 15" for £200 less!

As I'm new to Mac finding it very confusing to compare the two but the powerbook deal seams very appealing.

Can anyone please help me understand pros and cons?

Many thanks in advance!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unibody MBP 2.4 GHz C2D/27" Core i7 iMac
Personally, I don't think you can go wrong with either choice. However if your budget is tight, the PowerBook G4 seems like a good call. :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook - White, 2.0Ghz, 1GB Ram, week 35
gazamanga said:
Hi!

After many years of whining about my pc, windows and everything else have decided to try out the world of Mac.

However don't have a large budget at the moment!

So.. with this in mind (and for reasons to dull to explain only laptop will do) my obvious choice appears to be the base macbook (13" 1.83GHz). However one of the local stores is selling off Powerbook G4 15" for £200 less!

As I'm new to Mac finding it very confusing to compare the two but the powerbook deal seams very appealing.

Can anyone please help me understand pros and cons?

Many thanks in advance!

Before making a decision, I think you should check out the refurbished systems on Apple's website. They are usually the returns or demos, but are reconditioned and nicely discounted. As good as a new one IMO.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac G5, 4G 40gb, G4 iBook
DeNNNiTh said:
Before making a decision, I think you should check out the refurbished systems on Apple's website. They are usually the returns or demos, but are reconditioned and nicely discounted. As good as a new one IMO.