Afew Q's before I switch

T

Tratta

With all this hype about Boot Camp, and all the new software that essentially make Macs into PCs as well, I've become more and more interested in buying a mac as my next computer instead of a PC. But first, some questions:

1: I play games. I enjoy games. I see Macbooks with Radeon X1600's in them, and Core Duos and think to myself "Man, I wish my PC had those kinds of specs". Will a Mac with this hardware, using Boot Camp run newer games as well as a PC with the same hardware? If not, how big of a loss are we talking in performance?

2: I'm a Computer Science student. I make software, for PC, for Linux, for whatever the prof demands. Am I going to run into problems with this? Or will windows/linux remain blissfully unaware that I'm secretly compiling the software inside a Mac?

3: And while on the subject of programming, I read recently about some new software (forget its name, of course) that allows one to compile source code developed for PC to mac and linux. Was I dreaming? And if not, what was its name? (must research it more!)

4: Warantees. If I buy a warantee for a Mac, is it worth it? Some warantees I've bought have been wonderful, very good service, fast repairs or easy replacements. I've also paid too much for warantees and later only gotten service by threatening a lawsuit.
Any Mac Warantee horror stories?

5: Am I going to discover 6 months from now that I've royally screwed myself by instead buying a Mac? Because really, my friends will have "I told you so"s ready. And I'm a student, so I cant exactly just buy a new PC.

My Thanks to anyone who can answer any of these questions.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
1. It will run them exactly the same as a similarly configed pc
2. Depends on the language, you can't do .NET or Visual Basic in OS X but C, C++, ADA, Lisp, Perl, Squeek, SmallTalk and just about any other language will work fine