Need help deciding on MacBook

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
This is my first post, and hopefully I've asked this in the right section.

I am considering getting a new MacBook and I have a dilemma. I have always used PC's and I would like to have Windows XP as an option on my computer.

Now, I have found that Macmall (has anyone done business with them before?) has the 13" White 2Ghz Intel (60GB hard drive, 512 MB Ram) with Windows pre-installed for 1349. I would want the Apple care plane so add $249 to that I'm looking at a total of $1598.

If I go directly through Apple, since I am a student, I can get some decent discounts and get the same computer but with an 80 GB hard drive and 1GB of Ram, with the Apple care plan for a total of $1580 (Apple charges tax). But, it doesn't have Windows on it.

My question is, do I give up the bigger hard drive and more Ram to get Windows, or do I just go with the one from Apple without Windows. Is there going to be a huge difference in the one with more ram and a bigger hard drive (enough to give up having Windows)?

Thanks for any advice you can afford me, I really appreciate it!

Reaction score
I can't find this MacMall offer.

But I can tell you this much:

You have to calculate the price for windows. Compare your Macmall computer a version on apple.com with the same specs. The price difference should be that windows licence. If you are saving money on buying windows, do so.
Windows itself takes up about 4-7 GB of HD space, and I don't know how much Macmall partitions your drive.

For the RAM, I can only say get as much as you can. You can always put windows on later. Depends if you even really need it. I for one, don't.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac 2.0 GHz Intel Core Duo, 12" iBook G4 1.07 GHz