Macbook questions

G

Gundampilotspaz

I'm new to Mac OSX and Macs in general, and was thinking about getting a Macbook for school and writing.

I will mostly be using it for wordprocessing, watching a few movies/tv shows, and web-browsing. Mostly for school, and some personal around the house use.

I also really want to try out, probably nothing too serious, some Mac applications like frontrow and iLife.

So the questions are:

Do I need the super drive? I don't want to come to a point where I want to burn a DVD and can't. (However, my windows box has a DVD burner, can that be configued so I can move mac files over and will the written be able to be used on the Mac?

Will an Extra 512MB of ram be worth it?

Is an extra 20GB of HD space be worth it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini Mac Intel Core Dou, 2 Gigs RAM, 100 GB hard drive.
Get as much RAM as you can afford, but buy it 3rd party.

A bigger hard drive depends on how much you want to keep on it. Huge files of music? get a bigger HDD.

EDIT: You can go external drives too.

You can always just buy an external DVD burner, but why not just pay a bit more and get it installed?

OP
G

Gundampilotspaz

macdillon said:
Get as much RAM as you can afford, but buy it 3rd party.

Is it difficult to install in a Macbook?

macdillon said:
A bigger hard drive depends on how much you want to keep on it. Huge files of music? get a bigger HDD.

Music, probably not that much. Again, I can load what I want from my windows machine or my Ipod and delete it if I wish. I'll probably to with the 80gb, it's the ram I'm more concerned with.

macdillon said:
You can always just buy an external DVD burner, but why not just pay a bit more and get it installed?

I am leaning toward the $1,300 model, so this won't be a problem.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac 2.0 GHz Intel Core Duo, 12" iBook G4 1.07 GHz
Gundampilotspaz said:
Is it difficult to install in a Macbook?