Parallels?

Reaction score
do you need to install parrallels before installing windows xp? because i inserted my Windows pro disc and it isn't installing. maybe i am doing something wrong. this is my first day using a Mac..

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 Cube
Yes. Follow these basic steps:

1. Install Parallels
2. Create a new virtual machine (Parallels has a wizard)
3. Install XP to the virtual machine
4. Install Parallel's Tools to XP

Consult the Parallels manual for details.

OP
E
Reaction score
is there anyway you could tell me how to install xp to the virtual machine. i created one. but like i said this is my first time using a Mac. it's so much diff than Windows. im so lost

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.16 GHZ C2D 120 MB HD Mac Mini Duo 2 GB ram
kaidomac hit the nail on the head.. once you install Parallels create the virtual machine using the wizard(step 2) you can "start" the VM by selecting the green play button, where you will be greeted with your black screen (as if you are booting a DOS command prompt). Insert your Windows disc and the autoboot install should automatically begin, follow the usual prompts for installing a copy of windows. You can use the Quick Format when you are prompted to format the "drive". It actually installs a little faster than a normal PC too. LMK if it helps!!

OP
E
Reaction score
Game2954 said:
kaidomac hit the nail on the head.. once you install Parallels create the virtual machine using the wizard(step 2) you can "start" the VM by selecting the green play button, where you will be greeted with your black screen (as if you are booting a DOS command prompt). Insert your Windows disc and the autoboot install should automatically begin, follow the usual prompts for installing a copy of windows. You can use the Quick Format when you are prompted to format the "drive". It actually installs a little faster than a normal PC too. LMK if it helps!!