Network HELP!

Reaction score
Well, I Just got my new macbook, but I have a problem...
All of my important information and documents are on my windows pc.
I know I can use my iPod to transfer files, but was wondering if anyone could simply instruct me on creating a network with just 1 ethernet cable.
I am a beginner at this so if you could make the directions as specific as possibe, it would be *greatly* appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
AC

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2.16Ghz Core Duo 1GB Ram 80GB
You can't network 2 computers together with 1 ethernet cable unless it's a crossover cable which is wired differently then a standard ethernet cable. If you plan on keeping the PC setting up a network would probably be a good idea, but you are going to need more stuff for that. Just using the iPod is going to be the easiest way to move your files.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro 3.0Ghz 16GB RAM, 4x256 Vid, 30''cinema display
Yeah, one network cable is not going to cut it. Just buy two, and a cheap hub. This will solve your problems. Or... connect them both to the internet and just send the files Via.. .irc or skype or aim(ichat) or ... email?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini 09, MBP 12, MBA 15
Um sorry to bust your bubbles Avcabob and Graphite, but one regular ethernet cable will do the trick just fine. I do it on a XP box on the fringe of my wireless network pretty often.

When you plug it into both, the Windows box its gonna tell you that you have limited or no connectivity, ignore this and write down the IP address of the Windows machine.

Next on the Windows box, right click on the folder you wish to access over the network. Choose properties, then the sharing tab. In the Sharing tab click the check box that says share this folder with network users, or something to that effect. You may also want to check the box about letting network users to change files, this will make the folder read and writable. Click Apply, then Okay.