Old PC users wants to switch

O

Ohheck

Hi All. My first time here and I would appreciate any advice you can offer. I'm getting ready to replace my 5 year old Sony Vaio PC and am seriously considering a Mac. I have been using a PC for about 7 years now, but am not really versed on the inner workings of a computer. I bought my adult daughter an ibook a few years back after her old PC laptop failed and she loves it. I only use my computer for basic functions.....email, surfing and sometimes printing photos of my new grandson. I don't do any gaming, file sharing, downloading of music/videos, etc. I also do not intend to run any PC programs. My question.....what MAC to buy?? A friend who works for Apple says I should look at the new intel based Mac-Mini. I do a lot of surfing and would like something that will be fast in that respect. I'm on DSL. Thanks in advance for any help/advice you can offer.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2.16Ghz Core Duo 1GB Ram 80GB
I would say a new mini would be prefect as long as your Vaio is a desktop as the minis don't come with a monitor keyboard or mouse, and as long as your keyboard and mouse are usb so they can plug into it.

zal

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
BackMac Book 2Ghz Duo-Core, iMac G3(running Os X)
Mini would be perfect for you, in fact it would probably have more power than you need, its always good to have power on tap!

OP
K

komo

whew... all this time i think Vaio is just a laptop, never see the desktop version...

OP
O

Ohheck

komo said:
whew... all this time i think Vaio is just a laptop, never see the desktop version...