Dont laugh im a n00b!

G

g33

Hey guys
im new to the mac scene. Ok dont laugh but this is my story, i do a lot of photoshop, 3dstudio max and autocad work primarily on a PC (sony vaio laptop) as 3ds max and Autodesks Autocad arent compatible with macs. The thing is Macs now use Intel chips so i can use bootcamp for windows. I would like to use a macbook pro for 85% or more whilst on windows xp as after looking around at many of the laptops for sale none quite hit the specifications like the MBpro mostly with the Grafix card and Hard disk, the Dell equivalent or suprerior is much more expensive but has a 17" screeen which is far from portable and i really dont wanna strip out a hardisk (is it easy) from a brand new laptop... so what do u think, i hope to get this baby before september, hopefully merom is out then?

1.how big is the minimum partition for MAC os
2.will it be perfectly stable running predominantly on Windows
3.can u suggest an alternative laptop without that crappy virtual memory on the grafix card that wont be too much more than a 2.16, 2gb ram, ati X1600 256mb, 100gb 7200 rpm, 15" MBP?

Cheers in advance (dont flame me :) )

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
1) You can actually only install windows, completely foregoing a mac partition. With bootcamp the minimum is 5GB.

2) No, it will however be as stable as windows can be.

3) No.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
eMac 1gb RAM 80gb HD, Superdrive, iPod video 30gb
I second Aptmunich.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
While what Aptmunich stated is true, I would have to say in my opinion that a Mac would not be an ideal choice for you.
If you plan to spend the vast majority of time running Windows (85% of your time or more), then you would be much better served with a Windows based laptop. Just because you can install Windows on a Mac now, doesn't mean that you should in every case.