Help - Going for Graphic Design Job need 2 do serious cramming!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2.4Ghz Core 2 Duo
Hi there
This might sound a little bit crazy, but a graphic design job has come up in work and I am tempted to go for it. The only problem being, I don't know how to use Illustrator or Indesign. I have had some experience of Photoshop, and have done a few bits and pieces of graphic design for friends, but have virtually no experience in Pre-press.
The reason I am going for it is because I have always wanted to get into design, but just haven't had any opportunties before, apart from the odd freelance stuff (also, the cost of buying software in order to get to know it is prohibitive). I have spoken to the guy in the design department and he said it was still worth applying, as attitude and character etc. is just as important. He couldn't really say either way, but if it was a complete no-no I'm sure he would have said. I have been working in a completely different department for a while, and I think I've proved myself as a trustworthy, loyal and reliable employee.
So, basically, the way I figure, I'm just going to do a self-taught crash course in Illustrator and Indesign and do my best to churn out a load of examples for my portfolio.
Can anyone give some advice on how to go about this? I'm going to download trials of the Adobe software and maybe get some 'Dummies' books from the library, but if you can think of any idea it would be really appreciated! (be nice to me as I am a Newbie!!! Cheers!)
Thanx!!

Reaction score
I would just go and fiddle about with the different programs you are using. Have a look at some tips on the 'net etc. Personally, I dont find books and use.
I have learnt everything I do by myself. So just have a go and see what you can do...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs