Macbook RAM

M

McNewbie

I recently purchased the stock 1.83ghz Macbook with the stock 512mb RAM. Now I'm a student so I'm in a tight budget so I was wondering if:

1. Can I put a 1gb RAM stick with one of the standard 256mb for about a month or two until I can afford to buy the second 1gb stick?

2. Would my Macbook still run properly? I've heard that it would in fact loose some performance as it's better to run a dual RAM rates but so long as it still works well enough I'm ok. Would this wreck my Macbook?

3. I saw a brand quite cheap via Ebay called ADATA. Has anyone used it? Is it ok? Is it compatible?

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
if you spend good money on a macbook, i wouldnt go for cheap ram. but thats just me, i know new egg has the corsair ram that i see alot of mac users put in their books for for like 133 a gig or something like that.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unibody MBP 2.4 GHz C2D/27" Core i7 iMac
Check out www.macsales.com They have pretty good prices on Ram. I ordered my ram from them (ugrading to a Gig 2x512) and it has been running flawlessly. Most will recommend Crucial however and rightfully so.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 Cube
Yes, you can run your MacBook with a gig stick and a 256mb stick, but your video performance will suffer. By how much, I don't know. MacBooks like dual channel ram, which simply means that there are two sticks of ram in the machine of the same size and speed. Having them un-matched won't affect the system much, but since the video card shares memory with the system, you will take a hit there. Again, I don't know how that will affect you in real life. However, it will not wreck your MacBook.

Ram is cheap right now at about $80 per gig stick. With shipping, you can usually pick up 2 gigs for about $170. Check out the RAM section of my MacBook Resource Site for a decent selection and links to installation information:

http://www.wiredbynature.org/comp/mac/macbook/mods.php#Ram