Considering a Quasi-Switch

B

brokencircuit

Hey everyone,
As of late, I have been seeing a lot about the new Macs built on Intel hardware and their ability to run multiple operating systems. Because I'm a technician, and enjoy portability, I figured I would look into getting either a macbook, or macbook pro. My question is, which is better, bootcamp, or parallels? This is the one thing holding me back from purchasing a mac. I need the ability to run both OSX and Windows in order to get my work done efficiently. Does either peice of software lag, or take up more memory then the other? All of your help would be great. Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
Parallels is an emulator, so BootCamp will be much, much faster. Boot Camp is simply a way to run Windows natively on Mac hardware. Most benchmarks show the MacbookPros running Windows faster than a lot of PCs.

Reaction score
Running Windows XP on an Apple using BootCamp runs exactly the same as a PC with the same specs.

I don't know have any experience with Parallels, is it actually out? I keep hearing people talking about it, but no one that I have talked to has actually said they used it.

edit: Parallels isn't out yet...probably why no one has it...

Reaction score
Indiana; there's more than just corn here
Your Mac's Specs
Powerbook G4 1.67 MHz
Parallels is NOT an emulator, it is virtualization software. There is a large difference between the two. For example, VirtualPC for Mac is an emulator. Parallels takes advantage of the hardware already in your computer instead of emulating all of the hardware, which is much slower.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unibody Macbook 2.0, Blackberry Bold (Good Riddance iPhone)
Bootcamp allows you to natively run XP, just as it would on a piece of Dell hardware. There is no lag whatsoever, and space wise it only takes up as much hard drive space as you want the partition to consume.