Md101ll/a

Reaction score
I have a 2010 MacBook Pro that I am looking into replacing. I purchased it refurbished directly from Apple in 2011. The screen is detaching and no longer communicates with my iPhone since the last update. I was told it was a memory issue but freeing up memory did nothing to fix the problem. I am not able to spend $1500-$2000 on a new machine. I am a photographer and beginner blogger and I have well over 10,000 photos that I am moving to an external drive. I was excited to find a MacBook Pro on several sites refurbished for around $650. Doing my research the specs are very similar to the MacBook Pro offered by the Apple store. Operating system. Memory, processor,ram the same, doesn't offer the Retina display but I’m ok with that. Model number MD101LL/A was produced in 2012. I worry that if I purchase this MacBook that the internal components will be obsolete soon, since I tried to have Mac rebuild my current MacBook and was laughed at saying the parts are even made the same anymore. Are my suspicions correct? Would I be wasting my money purchasing model number MD101LL/A. I have gotte 8 years out of my current and still limping by. Logic tells me to not replace my 2010 model with a 2012 model

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
And your logic is guiding you in the right direction. While you will have to deal with the various electronic issues with a machine that is 6+ years old, the OS and software march on and will obsolete that machine within a couple of years. It sounds like you want to keep your machine for a long time and I fear you'll be doing this search again in a couple of years when things don't work anyway.