Lost internal SSD gigs

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm new to MacOS (since November 2017) and ran into a problem I can't seem to figure out. About a week ago I went from 150 gb free to 28 gb free and don't know what caused it. The last program I installed (around the same time is called TouchRetouch. My TM backup is to an external HD. Could some of the TM backup stored something on internal SSD? What's the best way to identify what's causing the problem? Also, I have a CCC image backup that's less than a month old. If I restore that will it erase my current SSD and reclaim my space? I have a 2017 MacBook Pro (Touch Bar) running High Sierra.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
What do the TM and CCC logs say about the last things they did???

Is your backup drive actually connected and running/mounted???

If I restore that will it erase my current SSD and reclaim my space?
Possibly and probably but you'd also probably loose any data you've created in the interim since the last CCC backup. Personally I'd use a different method i.e.: see above comments.

- Patrick
======

OP
R
Reaction score
Can you tell me how to find the log files? I woke up to 5.9 gb free today! My TM drive is always connected and mounted. My CCC drive is bootable clone of a good state and is not mounted or connected. I don't know if this is relevant, but I try to keep as many programs as I can on an external SSD. I'm hoping if you can help me find the log files it'll explain what's going on. Thank you for your help.

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
A minor point, possibly, but as you have a Notebook, Time Machine backups are initially stored as snapshots until you attach your TM External Hard Drive at which point they are integrated with TM proper.