SanDisk formatting

Reaction score
I did a search for how to format a 8gb SanDisk on my MacBook Air laptop, and couldn't find out how to format it,I finally hired it done. I am going to buy another one, 32gb. Can anyone tell me how format it here. I would call Apple iCare, but I'm not good at taking notes. Thanks, Ronnie, Palestine, Texas

Last edited:

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
You would use Disk Utility to do the work. You can search for it with Spotlight (CMD+space) or go to Applications->Utilities to find it within Finder. You don't specifically mention if this is an SD card or USB drive, but it doesn't matter, as long as it is inserted, Disk Utility (DU) will show it on the left sidebar along with your hard drive which is likely titled Macintosh HD.

Make sure you DO NOT touch the Macintosh HD entry while doing any of the further DU work, otherwise you might end up causing yourself a lot of grief.

With the Sandisk disk/drive inserted, select it from the left sidebar and it will likely have nothing on the right. Now click on the Partition tab and choose 1 partition and format it as ExFAT and you're all set. You can give it a name that makes sense to you. Once you've finished thing, exit DU and now you will see a new icon on your Desktop and Finder sidebar with the name you chose for your drive. You can now copy files to/from it.

If any of this is confusing, please clarify things before doing anything.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Unless there was more to the question than appears, why format Fat 32 over Mac OS Extended (Journaled) please, Ashwin? Formatting Fat32 requires different partition map, Master Boot Record, for external drives. OS X uses GUID.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs