Just Signed up and wish to say Hi.

Reaction score
Hi all,
Newbie here from the UK,
Tomorrow I plan to buy the 13" MacBook Pro! I noticed that all the 13" models only come with 8GB of Ram! My question is will this eight gig be enough to drive Photoshop and Lightroom?
Thanks in advance for any info, Paul.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums.

<BP come with either 8 or 16GB ofmemory. For some time the memory has not been upgradeable,but soldered to the logic board. No upgrading after purchase, so make sure you purchase one with 16GB if that is what you need and will work best with your applications.

OP
Tripleteer
Reaction score
I know that the new 15" MBs come with 16GB of Ram as standard but I can't find a 13" that comes with 16GB. Maybe it's a UK thing!.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
I checked in apple.co.uk and every 13" MBP configuration is upgradable to 16GB of ram for £180. The 13" MBP come with just the dual-core processors and you might find that limiting for photo/video editing. For this sort of work, you need a fast CPU and enough memory.

Perhaps you can tell us what your budget is and your use beyond Photoshop/Lightroom for us to better guide you in your purchase that you won't regret.

OP
Tripleteer
Reaction score
I checked in apple.co.uk and every 13" MBP configuration is upgradable to 16GB of ram for £180. The 13" MBP come with just the dual-core processors and you might find that limiting for photo/video editing. For this sort of work, you need a fast CPU and enough memory.

Perhaps you can tell us what your budget is and your use beyond Photoshop/Lightroom for us to better guide you in your purchase that you won't regret.

Thanks for this! I will mainly be using it for as I say Photoshop/Lightroom, surfing, mail, and storing Raw files for editing.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs