Using WD MY passport with my Mac

Reaction score
Hi
I have a My Passport Wireless External Disk that I am trying to use with my Mac that has EL Capitain OS. MY Passport Format is ExFAT.
I have formatted it .
Do not understand how to proceed further thru the various videos by WD or on you tube. Have tried reading similar questions on this forum but the Format of the drive is different.
I am a complete novice when it comes to these things and need to be taken through this step by step please.
I would like to use this drive to save all my photos and documents.
I would like to learn how to proceed to be able to do this.
Thank you

M

MacInWin

Welcome to the forum.

How do you want to attach the drive to the Mac? If by USB cable, all you need to do is to plug it in and it should appear in Finder and on the Desktop. Make sure that you have Finder set to show Eternal drives for it to be visible there, and also on the Desktop options to have it show on the Desktop.

If you want to attach it through your network, then it will have to be attached to the network (usually the router) by an Ethernet cable, then you go through Finder to find the drive, under "Shared" devices. Once it shows up in Shared Devices, just click on it to have it display like any other drive. If you have it set with a login and password, you will have to provide that when prompted for it.

As for using the drive to save photos and documents, you will need to be a bit more specific, as different applications have settings on where to save documents and images. What applications are you wanting to use for these photos and documents?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
I would like to learn how to proceed to be able to do this.

The fist step is to get it formatted for mac use and the instructions for various Mac OS X version are pretty clear which you can follow at:
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=3865#maveandyose