Deleting .kext

Reaction score
Hello,

I am trying to remove the IOAudioFamily.kext so that I can remove all sound from my Business Center iMacs as we have people come in all the time and just blast their things as they please AND just leave it there.

However, my issue is when I try to go into sudo su and run the command rm -Rfv /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext/ I receive "Operation not permitted" What am I doing wrong? I am not very well versed in MAC OS but I am a technician none the less, and have no fear of intermediate or advanced ways to do this.

Below I will post what came out when I ran the command:

Last login: Thu Aug 24 15:34:47 on ttys000
******:~ administrator$ sudo su
Password:
sh-3.2# rm -Rfv /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext/
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents/_CodeSignature/CodeResources: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents/_CodeSignature: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents/Info.plist: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents/MacOS/IOAudioFamily: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents/MacOS: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents/Resources/English.lproj/InfoPlist.strings: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents/Resources/English.lproj: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents/Resources: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents/version.plist: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext//Contents: Operation not permitted
rm: /System/Library/Extensions/IOAudioFamily.kext/: Operation not permitted
sh-3.2#