Semi-new user Mac user here. Few observations

Reaction score
So about 6 months ago I made the leap from a windows machine, which I've been using for 20+ years, for a variety of reasons, the most important being iMessage from my desktop and I suppose using facetime to video chat with my son a few times a day from the office.

The system I bought is an iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Late 2015), 3.1 Intel w/8 Gigs of memory. I soon discovered that multi-tasking was a real challenge for this machine because of the memory. My job requires me to have 2 separate browsers open at a time along with about 3 or 4 other apps. I am totally shocked at how slow this machine is when I am running everything I need to run simultaneously. I suppose I should have done a little more research on memory upgrades before buying this particular machine as the RAM in this one is soldered in and no upgrades are possible without a major effort. Being an apple iPad/iPhone user so long I just assumed that since it was an apple product it would run as fast and as smooth as every other apple product. I must say I am totally in love with MAC software, but, unfortunately, this machine just isn't cutting it for me.

I keep a close eye on Activity Monitor, anyway, and find myself killing a few items from time to time in an effort to keep things running smoothly, but I am experiencing some incredibly long wait times opening/closing apps at times.

Anyone here have any suggestions on multitasking on machines with 8 gigs? I'd love to find a solution other than having to sell this thing and buy a new machine.

Thanks!

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey