Question about Macbook Air 2013 and monitors

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have no experience with Macs but a friend has a Macbook Air 2013 and for the first time is considering getting 2 monitors for work and asked if it was feasible and I honestly do not know. What do you guys recommend? He's looking for 2 24inch monitors.

Thanks

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
According to the specs that Mac can handle a variety of monitors with the right adapter. It should work with most monitors currently on the market so the question is what features do you need in a monitor and what's the budget?

• Thunderbolt digital video output
    • Native Mini DisplayPort output
    • DVI output using Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter (sold separately)
    • VGA output using Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter (sold separately)
    • Dual-link DVI output using Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter (sold separately)
    • HDMI audio and video output using third-party Mini DisplayPort to HDMI Adapter (sold separately)
Are you going to try to connect two monitors simultaneously or use the two monitors in two different locations? That will impact how things are connected.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I'm not familiar with the quality of that dock so I can't answer about that. According to the description on that page and some of the answered questions to monitors can be connected simultaneously by doing either of the following:

1. Daisy-chaining two thunderbolt monitors together.
2. Connect one monitor to the thunderbolt port using whatever adapter is needed. Connect the second monitor to a usb port via something like this.

If you go the second route I suggest doing some homework first. I used an earlier version of a similar device and it did not work if you tried to put certain software on the monitor connected the usb video adapter.