Video editing software

Reaction score
I'm a beginner to all this.

I have some video files that have either no sound or no picture.

I discovered that the files with no sound are missing an AAC audio codec. I'm not sure which video codec is missing at this time.

Is there video editing software I can use that will allow me to import the file (mp4), add an AAC codec and export to a file that will then have audio? Similar question for video.

This is for home/personal use. I'm willing to purchase and use a Mac.
Thank you,
Paul

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
I have several questions that might get us going on the right track. I'm sure that others will also chime in with their thoughts as well.

1. Are we sure that the files involved ever had an audio track at all? The problem you are describing could be due to a missing codec but could also be due to there being no audio in the file to start. It's possible the audio was not saved properly.
2. What hardware and software are you currently using to try and play these files?
3. Do you know what was used to create these files?

OP
P
Reaction score
Thanks so much for the help!

Background: I play a game called Go and take lessons from a strong European player. The lessons are in the form of videos which he posts on Vimeo. Over the past few years I have downloaded the videos so I could watch them off-line. In the past couple of weeks there has been no sound to the videos I download. I can watch them on Vimeo and everything is fine. I've written his tech guy but received no reply.

I do not know how the videos were created.

I assume there was at one time both audio source and an audio codec since I could stream from Vimeo.

I download the files using Firefox, Video DownloadHelper. They are all in mp4 format.
I am running on a MacBook Pro. To view the files I use VLC and Movist. I have the latest versions of everything.