Mouse Housekeeping

Reaction score
I suspect like a lot of people in this forum, I am brand new to Mac, and I have what some may think, is a silly question. But, whew..... here goes!

I have noticed that when I turn my computer on, the mouse pointer is always parked up in the top left hand corner. Is there any way to re-position this upon start up?

Thanks,

Ol Cob

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
No that is the default.

M

MacInWin

Welcome to the forum. As Harry said, it's a default and not changeable. You'll get used to it in a while.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air Mid-2012 / iMac Retina 5K Late-2014
Welcome to the forum. As Harry said, it's a default and not changeable. You'll get used to it in a while.

Personally, I won't "get used to it." I hate that not only is in the top-left corner and not configurable from a position standpoint, but I can't change the default system-level acceleration. On the 27" screen, with as slow as it moves by default, it takes a couple of "sweeps" of the mouse to get the pointer to the middle of the screen. After I log in, my personalized acceleration settings kick in and it works properly.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP Retina mid 2015 15.4" 16GB 2.5 GHz OS Monterey; iPhone 12 128gb; iPad Mini 5, 64gb
Let the computer go to sleep rather than switching off.

Reaction score
Personally, I won't "get used to it." I hate that not only is in the top-left corner and not configurable from a position standpoint, but I can't change the default system-level acceleration. On the 27" screen, with as slow as it moves by default, it takes a couple of "sweeps" of the mouse to get the pointer to the middle of the screen. After I log in, my personalized acceleration settings kick in and it works properly.

What kind of mouse are you using? There are apps which let you adjust the acceleration depending on what mouse.