PDA

View Full Version : Mouse Housekeeping

Ol_Cob
03-17-2017, 11:39 PM
I suspect like a lot of people in this forum, I am brand new to Mac, and I have what some may think, is a silly question. But, whew..... here goes!

I have noticed that when I turn my computer on, the mouse pointer is always parked up in the top left hand corner. Is there any way to re-position this upon start up?

Thanks,

Ol Cob

harryb2448
03-18-2017, 12:14 AM
No that is the default.

MacInWin
03-18-2017, 10:28 AM
Welcome to the forum. As Harry said, it's a default and not changeable. You'll get used to it in a while.

Ember1205
03-18-2017, 10:39 AM
Welcome to the forum. As Harry said, it's a default and not changeable. You'll get used to it in a while.

Personally, I won't "get used to it." I hate that not only is in the top-left corner and not configurable from a position standpoint, but I can't change the default system-level acceleration. On the 27" screen, with as slow as it moves by default, it takes a couple of "sweeps" of the mouse to get the pointer to the middle of the screen. After I log in, my personalized acceleration settings kick in and it works properly.

badshoehabit
03-18-2017, 02:42 PM
Let the computer go to sleep rather than switching off.

cradom
03-18-2017, 02:49 PM
Personally, I won't "get used to it." I hate that not only is in the top-left corner and not configurable from a position standpoint, but I can't change the default system-level acceleration. On the 27" screen, with as slow as it moves by default, it takes a couple of "sweeps" of the mouse to get the pointer to the middle of the screen. After I log in, my personalized acceleration settings kick in and it works properly.

What kind of mouse are you using? There are apps which let you adjust the acceleration depending on what mouse.

re-reading this I see you're using something to change the acceleration, it just wont work until log in is completed. Never mind.

lclev
03-18-2017, 05:00 PM