PDA

View Full Version : Numbers question



paulprd
01-31-2017, 09:54 AM
Hi, can anyone tell me how to fix a formula to a cell, e.g. I want to display the contents of a5 in a3. This I can do using the = so a3=a5. But I they want to add a row which forces the row down so a5 becomes a6.

Hope this makes sense. Thanks in advance !

Paul

Sawday
01-31-2017, 12:46 PM
In Excel you put a $ sign before the column or row value (or both) ie a$5. Not sure if this works for numbers too.

paulprd
01-31-2017, 12:54 PM
Hi, can anyone tell me how to fix a formula to a cell, e.g. I want to display the contents of a5 in a3. This I can do using the = so a3=a5. But I they want to add a row which forces the row down so a5 becomes a6.

Hope this makes sense. Thanks in advance !

Paul

Hi Sawday. Thanks for the suggestion ! Really appreciated ! I did try that but will go back and try once more just in case.

Best

Paul

Gandalph
01-31-2017, 11:00 PM
Try highlighting the a3 cell then type SUM=(a5).

paulprd
02-01-2017, 04:05 AM
Thanks Gandalf will give that a try. I can see how that could work! Best paul

paulprd
02-01-2017, 05:47 AM
Hi Gandalf. Unfortunately that does not work either. It does work if you have a number cell, but as I need a txt cell it won't let me apply a sum function. Good idea tho, worked with numbers.