IPad Air

Reaction score
I need expert help with gmail on my IPad Air. Gail recently updated an I am having some trouble

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
rMBP i7 mid 2012 macOS 10.12
I'm no expert but I use Gmail on iPhone and iPad. What is the problem? Are you using the native Mail app or the Gmail app?

OP
S
Reaction score
Gmail

I'm no expert but I use Gmail on iPhone and iPad. What is the problem? Are you using the native Mail app or the Gmail app?

Gmail software was recently updated on my iPad and left a couple of problems. I use the Gmail app.

1. When I get a longer msg it cuts off part of the msg at the end and I can't read all of it.

2. When I tap on a link to anything from the first it asks me to choose between Chrome and Safari. I don't have Chrome and don't want. Safari is my default already.

Can you help me?

Reaction score
Hi,

Dont know whether you sorted this out and I may be wrong, but I remember that this 'clipping' at around 20Kb was a known issue and you have to download the entire message to read it, actually it isn't clipping the message, it is just not downloading it in its entirety, there should be a button to download the full message, but its a pain having to do this.
Check out the support on the Google website, there may be something to help you there.
Regards, Al

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Have you considered adding the Gmail account info to the Apple Mail program? I don't think I experience the same problems checking Gmail that way.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
rMBP i7 mid 2012 macOS 10.12
It's no real surprise that the Gmail app tries to plug Chrome, since that is Google's browser. I'd suggest going with Slydude's advice and adding your Gmail account to the native Mail app.

Reaction score
limit your emails