Documents in the Cloud...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2014 Mac Mini (Base Model, High Sierra); iPad 2018 (Latest iOS); iPhone 7 (Latest iOS)
A bit of a ramble so bear with me.

First of all, I should note that I'm a university teacher. I'm a Pages and Numbers user mostly. I have Word and Excel, and use them for documents I MUST share, but in general, I use Pages and Numbers and turn most things into PDFs if they're not just for my consumption. I only started with a Mac in 2015 February 2015, so, not new but newish.

Recently, there have been times I've wanted certain documents from home, and of course, if I forget to put them on the iPad, they're not there. I do use iCloud for many documents for work, but not everything, of course; in general, when I notice I need it, I upload it, otherwise, I don't, which is of course the problem.

Now, looking at Documents in the Cloud, and how it separates things by app in iCloud, I wonder how much a hassle it is to change one's folder habits to fit the new paradigm (for me new, anyway)? What I mean is, like many old Windows users, I stuck everything on a topic in a folder dedicated to that topic. So, if I had a bunch of files about a class I was teaching (PDFs, Pages docs, Excel charts, whatever). They'd all be in one folder.
A little bit now, I'm finding myself not doing that. For example, I now seem to keep all sort of picture files in the Pictures folder, and not in the separate folders they could be. Videos or movies I use for my classes now stay in their own folder, and don't migrate to the class folders like they used to.
Documents is where I haven't had this same drift. All my grading Excel or Numbers files are in the same folder as my class syllabi and some of the PDFs I use.

So, A bunch of questions: