Migration Assistant stops, then asked for login as Setup User

Reaction score
So, I'll start with this. I'm a day into being a Mac owner. Here's the problem. I have the migration assistant running on the Mac, and I downloaded the correct version of the Windows Migration Assistant on the PC. They are connected to the same network, and they can see each other. The Mac sends a confirmation number over to the PC, that part works. Then the PC starts searching for files to migrate, which is also good.

This takes a while, so I step over to get a snack, and when I come back the Mac seems to have gone to sleep. Now remember I'm totally new at this, so when I say it seems to have gone to sleep what I mean is the screen has gone black. Not sure what I was supposed to do about that, but eventually I got the screen to come back on. But then it wanted me to log in again, except that it wants me to log in as a Setup User. So that doesn't work, so I power down / restart the Mac. After that any attempt to rerun the migration assistant takes me back to the Setup User login page.

Googling this came up with suggestion to press the control alt command delete and enter keys all at once. Doing that does change the login screen, but still doesn't let me login as myself. So I just rebooted the Mac and left it at that, because I won't need my PC files until I go back to work on Monday.

My work-around has been to just go out and buy a terabyte external disk, completely back up the PC, and then I'll copy the files I want over to the Mac. But it would be nice to know what this Setup User thing is, and how to get past it in case I ever see it again.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro
Personally, I would start up in Recovery and erase the drive and start over. Since you do not need anything on your new Mac, you can start fresh again. Then you wouldn't have to worry about "Setup User" popping up again.