Switching To Apple Environment?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBA mid-2013 (10.12.4), iPad 5th gen (10.3.1)
Hi.
I've been using a Macbook Air 13" since 2013 and I am quite happy with it.
With the introduction of features like Continuum, I started to wonder if I should switch to iOS too, which I disliked and kept distance for no obvious reasons.

With the new features, like many of you may know and also enjoy, your Apple devices act as one. Correct me if I am wrong here: You can read something on your phone and keep reading from the same page in your notebook, then on your tablet. You can answer your phone from your Macbook without even knowing where your phone is. You can track where your phone is from your macbook (and vice versa?).

These features all seem unnecessary but also cool. These look like they would improve my life, but let's be honest, I could (and see, can) live without them.

Because I have a desktop PC, and I am pleased with my 2013 Macbook, I see no reason to switch back to a Windows or Linux laptop ever again. But the same thing can't be said with the phones I'm afraid.

Here is where I need your help and opinions. I LOVE Android and the freedom it gives to the user. I can have more than one launcher, widgets on more than one screen, I can choose my default browser and the other browser won't open again if I do not open it myself, I can choose to type in any keyboard I want, I can use any alarm app, I can pick any music file as my ringtone and many more things like these.
On the other hand, iOS seems so restrictive. Some people mock it about not having a file explorer like Android OS has, and in fact I and a friend who bought an iPhone could not locate the files we wanted to see if we did not open the app for the file. I had to sync my friends' phones to my Macbook because they did not have iTunes on their computers.