hp.myway browser hacker

Reaction score
Newbie here - I have become aware recently that my safari searches have "hp.myway.com" in the search bar and from the net this seems to be a nuisance virus. I can see many recommendations re uninstalling this virus but they all seem to address a PC. Is there a way to get rid of this on a mac?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
A1286 MBP5,3 running 10.9.5, iphone6, Mac mini1,1 A1176 120/2gb
get and run MalwareBytes for mac. Great program. If it is Malware, this should take care of it.

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
Newbie here - I have become aware recently that my safari searches have "hp.myway.com" in the search bar and from the net this seems to be a nuisance virus. I can see many recommendations re uninstalling this virus but they all seem to address a PC. Is there a way to get rid of this on a mac?

A warm welcome to Mac-Forums.

The site appears to be a Search Engine, certainly not a virus and arguably not detrimental to your Mac. I suspect that you may have downloaded this inadvertently in the past or it may have come bundled with an app you downloaded.

Whilst I totally support and recommend Malwarebytes Anti-Malware App, I suspect that it might not regard this as a threat - could be wrong.

I suggest you go into Safari > Preferences > Search, and within this window, the first option is to choose your Search Engine - it may show hp.myway. If it does, change it to Google (or whatever you want).

Please post back to let us, and followers of this thread know your results.

Ian

M

MacInWin

And if it IS removed by malwarebytes, then look for Ghostery to prevent it happening again. Ghostery blocks malware, pretty much, and malwarebytes removes it.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs