Iv'e finally taken the plunge

Reaction score
Well, after reading article after article, forum after forum, talking to person after person in any technological environment, i've finally picked up a MacBook Pro. I called almost every best buy within an hours radius from where I lived for a couple of days to find the one I wanted "open box," if you add the "on hold" time, I racked up about 6 hours on the phone. Finally! A Best Buy had the one I was almost looking for "open box" and it was for 1699.00+ tax originally 1999.99+ tax. It is a 15.4" 2.2GhZ i7 Quadcore, 16GB, 256GB SSD (which is unfortunately short of what I wanted but, with the money I saved I will just invest in a 1TB drive.) I also used a 150$ student discount they had going on which brought the total price after taxes to around 1670.00$ Woohoo!

I have never used a Mac before, whatsoever.. I have been using PC's since I was 12 years old (24 now) and honestly I am a little shocked by this thing but, I love the design, the sturdiness, it is quick and reacts very quickly but, it is definitely going to take some time to get used to. What I mean by used to is deeper than using the apps and easy functions, finding where everything is underneath the hood is what is going to take some time. On a PC I was able to find my way through anything with a blindfold. Every time I pull it out, I do find myself smiling at it for some strange reason, it is honestly just a beautiful machine but, I still have my skepticism. The price tag is a little high for my taste, I could afford it but, I have a hard time letting go of decently serious cash, I am guessing it is just my cheap side from when I was growing up. I am just afraid that this isn't going to be what everyone has talked about and I would have gotten better from a similar priced PC (if I could even find one discounted enough) but, I have 15 days with it for sure so, I am going to make the best out of it.