I need knowledge/help

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I have been having a terrible time trying to purchase my next machine.

A little about myself, I am a college student currently deciding between computer engineering and computer science. I am looking to buy a nice laptop that I will have throughout school. I don't really have a price point but, I'd rather not spend a ton, by ton I mean 1500+

I want to make sure that I get a machine that will be able to do what I need it to do for school and be able to handle light gaming on the side, i.e. League of legends.. It doesn't have to run them at 100fps on ultra settings, just playable.

I am currently stressing out between choosing between the two OS's.
My Windows choice is a Lenovo yoga pro 710 with 16gb ram, 256gb ssd, 6th gen i7 6500cpu and a Gtx940mx. This laptop will cost me 750$ new and I believe it is a really good deal.
As far as a Mac choice goes, I am looking at MacBook pros but, the hardware just doesn't seem comparable.. Like it would be an i5 processor, 4gb ram, 128gb ssd and no dedicated GPU. It seems like way less for way more but, the sales teams tell me the MacBook is faster and better? I just don't understand why?

My questions and where the help is needed would be:
1) which OS should I go with?
2) why would the Mac be better with lower specs? I just can't wrap my mind around it.

Thank you for your help! I just really want to understand why it seems like I get so little with such a high price while buying a Mac. I have absolutely nothing against Mac, I just don't understand and I want to make the best choice for my future schooling.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air Mid-2012 / iMac Retina 5K Late-2014
Hello, and welcome.