New to Mac

Reaction score
I have always used a PC everywhere I have worked and at home. I am interested in switching to a Mac now, but I have no experience with them.

Is the Mac interface similar to an iPhone? Would you expect problems with me interfacing with my company's VPN/Cloud network or are things like that usually supported on Macs too?

Thanks

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
No, the OS X UI is not like the iDevice UI which is more touch centric. If you've never used OS X before, the interface is quite different than Windows and will take a bit of learning as long as you willing to do so..

OS X does have good support for VPN solutions and there are free programs that will work or your company might provide you with a OS X version of the app.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
rMBP i7 mid 2012 macOS 10.12
There are some aspects of a Mac which will be instantly familiar to iPhone users, such as Notes, FaceTime and iMessage. In fact most of the native iOS apps have their counterpart on OS X.

The big difference is that while iOS is app based, OS X is much closer to Windows in being more file based. It should present less of a hurdle in switching from PC to Mac, than to switch to iOS from a file-centric OS.

To me, the greatest point about iOS/OS X is the ease of operating the devices together. For example, when your iPhone rings, you can choose to take the call on your Mac instead of digging your phone out. You can also work on a document in, for example, Pages on your Mac, and then open it on your phone should you choose, perhaps to make a revision when you are away from your computer.

Network protocols are handled at a different level to the OS. I can't remember the systems now, and it would take some reading to become conversant with them again, but your network administrator would be aware of them and should have no problems connecting you fully to your company network.