• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Editing 4K video

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to this stuff.

I'm wondering if someone can help me understand what it is I will need to do to edit 4K video on my Mac. My camera does have the ability to record in 4K but when I import it to iMovie (or even in Photos) it is choppy.

My Mac is getting on in age

Mid 2010
Processor 3.06 Ghs Intel Core i3
Memory 8 GB 1333 Mhz DDR3
Graphics ATi Radeon HD 4670 256MB

I imagine something about this is old enough that is the source of my problems, but Im wondering if someone else can help me understand what it is. Is it something I can upgrade?

Appreciate the help
Cheers

Last edited by a moderator:
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
What do you have - a macbook, macbook pro, macbook air? What year is your mac? What file type is the camera using? The choppiness could be due to incorrect frame rate settings.