EchoMac.

S

sllewk

Hi, I have an Apple Mac Mini model A1347 late 2012 running El Capitan OS and I am a qualified amateur radio operator. I used to run EchoLink on my old Windows machine but sadly I cannot run it on my Mini. I am almost 82 years old and circumstances force me to take all my antennas down as I cannot maintain them, hence having to use VOiP software. Are there any other radio hams out there running Macs who could assist me please? I can, and have, downloaded EchoMac but all I get is a list of countries, no ideas as to how to access any of them or even make a transmission. Usually there is a list of world wide hams available to talk to but I cannot get them at all. Obviously I am doing something wrong but I have not got a clue as to what.
Very best regards from Keith in Derby England.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
This page is for a newer version of that program but might help you get started http://www.apphugs.com/echoham.html

Not an operator yet myself but my nephew is. From what I read a few months ago I did not think this was possible but judging from the video it seems possible. I have avoided working on the license because I would have the same problem that you do maintaining the antenna that you do.

BTW just out of curiosity on my part would one of the portable radios work for you or would you still have the same antenna issues?

OP
M

MacInWin

I've downloaded the software and applied for the validation. Once I have that, I'll give it a go and get back to you with what I see.

W1HRE

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I saw something which suggests that there may be need to change certain router settings for your program to work. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgU7nMqMPiM

Also, I am assuming you have verified/registered your call sign with the echo link servers.

OP
M

MacInWin

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score