Switching from windows to mac which model should I choose?

Reaction score
Never used a Mac but wanted to get one to use for photo and video editing, in addition to Microsoft office. Both the 13 or 15 inch would be fine for me and save up for either model

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
If you are really going to get into video and photo work the larger the screen the better. I have macbooks with screens from 13" to 15" and a mac pro with two 27" screens. The Mac Pro is my video/photo work horse. I do this for a living so I don't recommend starting out with a mac pro.

As ferrarr has recommended, a mac mini would be a nice start and the cheaper option, but it would certainly do the job. You can then change monitor size to suit your needs. If you need portability then a 15" macbook pro is a nice computer. You can also add a monitor to it and use it in clamshell mode. I would not recommend a Macbook Air or the current Macbook. While they will do video/photo work, if you got serious you would shortly outpace what they can do.

Just my 2 cents!

Lisa

OP
C
Reaction score
You are saying 13" and 15" are fine, but do you need a laptop? Maybe a mini would be useable to get you started with?

Yeah I actually need a new laptop.

If you are really going to get into video and photo work the larger the screen the better. I have macbooks with screens from 13" to 15" and a mac pro with two 27" screens. The Mac Pro is my video/photo work horse. I do this for a living so I don't recommend starting out with a mac pro.