Transfer voice memos from iPhone to mac, with the new names I changed

Reaction score
I am new to iTunes and a relatively new Mac user. Few weeks ago, I connected iPhone 5s to Mac iTunes 12.3.1.23. On the Mac there was a prompt to import all the videos, pictures and voice memos from the iPhone. The transfer was successful.

At a later time, I changed the names of some of the same voice memos directly on the iPhone, to reflect the date they were recorded. I’d like to reflect that change on the voice memos on the Mac. So, on the Mac I went to the voice memo files I’d downloaded, and dragged them to the Trash, so that I wouldn’t get duplicate copies.

But when I connect the iPhone to the Mac again, the voice memo titles that show up under “my device” are the old titles without the dates. Also, there was no prompt this time, prompting me to move my files from the iPhone to the Mac.

1) How can I get the Mac to import these voice memo files again from my iPhone? I’m not getting any prompts when I plug it in, I just manually open iTunes.
2) How to import them with the new titles I wrote with the dates added? I still keep getting the old file names when I click “my device” in iTunes on the Mac.

OP
M
Reaction score
The next steps I am trying:

3) I tried dragging and dropping the audio files from the iPhone to the Mac. I can’t drag them at all.

4) I have tried highlighting the voice memos I want to transfer to the Mac, and going to File > Add To Library, and selecting a folder to drop them into. But they are not appearing in the folder I directed them to, or anywhere else.

OP
M
Reaction score
Even if it doesn't address my specific problem, it would help me if I could just transfer these audio files to the mac in any way possible, even if not going through iTunes.

M

MacInWin

dragged them to the Trash