New Macbook Pro Retina 13 inch - High Temperatures?

Reaction score
Hi there, this is my first post to any forum relating to Macs and am in need of a little guidance as to if the temperatures that my Mac is running at are relatively standard.

I bought this brand new Mac 2 days ago for University work, and coming from an extremely Windows dominated background I have little to no experience with Macs. So far I've just been using it for basic web browsing, video watching and a bit of light gaming, stuff such as hearthstone, the binding of isaac etc and was noticing slowdown in this particular scenario after around an hour.

I decided to download iStats Menu as I like to keep tabs on how a system is running and was quite alarmed to see temperatures CPU wise sometimes rising to 90 degrees celsius, though this is only when light gaming, most of the time the temperature is around 70 degrees when the fans aren't on, and as of writing this the core temperatures are approximately 40 degrees celsius I assume because the fans have kicked in.

I'm just wondering if these temperatures are relatively normal, I'm also aware that the system will probably run slightly hotter as I always have it on my lap. I don't know if someone could tell me the average for temperatures for a system like mine too.

Thanks for any help in advance!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I decided to download iStats Menu as I like to keep tabs on how a system is running and was quite alarmed to see temperatures CPU wise sometimes rising to 90 degrees celsius, though this is only when light gaming, most of the time the temperature is around 70 degrees when the fans aren't on, and as of writing this the core temperatures are approximately 40 degrees celsius I assume because the fans have kicked in.