Passing mixer audio to Bluetooth headset

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
My current Sunday video chat setup uses the following setup for audio:

1. Heil PR 40 mic is fed into
2. Behringer Xenyx 802 mixer which feeds the audio into my 2015 iMac.

I'm getting good audio this way though I am still learning a few tricks here and there.

I'd like to feed the audio from my Yamaha receiver into this setup so I can then feed it into the Mac and listen to the output using this headset. Getting the receiver into the mixer has been easy and I know sound is coming in because I can plug wired headphones into the mixer and check the sound. I cannot then pass that on to the USB headset. I'm probably missing something simple here. Any suggestions.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 16” M1max 32/1tb and bunch of other mac/apple stuff
How are you feeding the receiver in? Tape inputs? ( or this one calls it 2 track) you may have to route it to the mix if you are feeding mix in to your Mac. Usually these things have a switch to route those inputs to the mix.

OP
S

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I've tried it using both the two track method as well as feeding into a line in on the mixer. Both methods seem to produce good stereo sound in the sense that I can plug a headset into the headphone out on the mixer and monitor the sound. I tried feeding the two track out into a line in on the iMac (provided by a Griffin iMic). That doesn't work.

Any other suggestions.

The two connections I haven't tried are Control Room out and Main Out. I'll try those as soon as I locate the correct patch cable 1/4" to 3.5 mm. got one around here somewhere. I just gotta find it.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs