Photographer switching from PC to iMac - but what spec?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio M1 Max 2022 32 Gb RAM, 512 Gb SSD; MacBook Pro 14" 2021 M1 Pro Both on Ventura 13.1
Hi,

I am not a complete newbie to Mac. I have been running a 13" Retina MacbookPro since mid 2013 but I have retained my PC. But having become increasingly concerned about the way Windows is going I have decided to make the change despite my feelings about the cost of the transition.

Basically I am a keen amateur photographer using Lightroom and Photoshop for processing RAW files and intend to continue doing so. I will be running the usual office stuff.

I have been looking around the internet and chatted to my local (UK) Apple shop. iMac 27" with retina 5K is the machine I will be buying. The top spec is the one with 3.3Ghz i5 but without the graphics upgrade. I would favour the processor upgrade for future proofing but much depends on the overall cost of the system. The basic 8GB RAM which I will upgrade myself to 24GB.

The internal storage options are what I am puzzling over most. My PC has a 128Gb SSD plus 3 x 1Tb internal hard disks. Of this about 2Tb is in use overall. Initially I had thought of the 3TB Fusion disk but I am wondering about the 512Gb flash storage option instead. My current backup strategy is based upon backing up the system SSD (plus a bootable clone) and having a clone of the other disks updated daily. I would prefer to keep that strategy using Time Machine and one of the cloning applications (not sure which one yet) which is making me think that the SSD option for internal storage is better (especially as performance would be better) and get suitable external hard disks to keep the data with others to hold the clones.

I would be interested in suggestions about which internal storage option about which external disks. I am also wondering whether an external SSD (to hold the LR catalogue and the photos I am working on) would be a good idea.