Migrating from a PC to MacBook

Reaction score
I'm a MacBook newbie and have run Migration Assistant to copy my files from my Windows laptop to my MacBook and now I can't find my files! I ran it twice, both wirelessly and then wired, both times took hours, but no joy. Where have they gone? And how can I do this successfully?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I'm a MacBook newbie and have run Migration Assistant to copy my files from my Windows laptop to my MacBook and now I can't find my files!

Make sure you're signed into the proper account (you may have only created one account at this point). Then check in the "Documents" folder on the MacBook?

- Nick

OP
K
Reaction score
I did, but they're not there. I believe that, as I had already completed setting up the MacBook before trying the migration, the files might be logged under a different, new, user. But there are no other users on this MacBook that I can find.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
But there are no other users on this MacBook that I can find.

To verify this…go to:

- Apple Menu
- System Preferences
- Users & Groups

The "Users & Groups" will list all accounts setup on the computer. Typically this is just the single "admin" account (with the user name you setup). But sometimes folks setup multiple accounts on one computer.

- Nick

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Here's another idea. Double click on your computers storage icon. After doing this…in the window that opens up…there should be a folder called "Users". Take a look in the "Users" folder. I've seen sometimes that Migration Assistant will create a folder inside of the "Users" folder with the transferred info.

HTH,

- Nick

OP
K
Reaction score
Ok, this sounds strange but I don't appear to have a storage icon! Am looking in 'Finder'. Should I be looking somewhere else?
I'm really appreciating your help with this.

Kay

M