iphoto

Reaction score
I tried following Mighty Gem's advice to size a photo in iphoto to a certain dpi, "If you Export a photo via iPhoto's File menu, you can choose any size that you wish using the Custom Size option", but got stuck when asked, under custom, my max width and # of px. Can you help me choose?
I am an artist who needs to learn to send photos of my work in certain dpi. This time they want 72dpi, other places have needed 300dpi.
Thanks for the help!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Have you thought about using the preview.app to re-size your photos to a custom DPI?

OP
T
Reaction score
resizing photo

Have you thought about using the preview.app to re-size your photos to a custom DPI?

When I open in Preview, and go to adjust size, it says it's 72 pixels/inch resolution. How does this convert to dpi(dots per inch)? Not sure how they come up with the width and height , or how changing those would change resolution either. Thanks.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
When I open in Preview, and go to adjust size, it says it's 72 pixels/inch resolution. How does this convert to dpi(dots per inch)? Not sure how they come up with the width and height , or how changing those would change resolution either. Thanks.

I'm going to let our expert (member RadDave) on this reply - hoping he sees this thread. He has posted several threads on the subject.

OP
T
Reaction score
I just found a conversion site for dpi to pixels/cm . It's called endmemo.com. So that part of my question is answered.
Thanks for the idea to use Preview.
When I asked to make the size 300 dpi , it said it could not, because the photo was 2.6 MB.Yet, I have a high res camera. So, now I'm wondering how to do 300 dpi? (which is 118.12pixel/cm).

C

chas_m