switching to Mac

Reaction score
I am on an extremely low budget, 100 bucks or less, but I am sick of Windows Xp and it's stupid problems. What a piece of trash.

I want to get an old Mac desktop or old laptop. Is old OS safe to use online? I don't care how old it is, I am a professional musician and besides recording audio, surfing the web, watching occasional videos, reading ebooks, and sending email, I am good.

I have a good tft screen, external hard drives, keyboards, mouses. All I need is the computer.

I have an old PC with a dual core 2 ghz and 1 gb of ram and the power is even more than enough for my needs, so an old Mac should be fine.

Even though I record audio professionally, I only need a couple of audio tracks and a few midi tracks. I don't run lots of VST or anything like that, my setup is very minimal.

I don't care about new or fancy stuff, I an old school. I am really aching to let this Windows trash go, drove me nuts for 13 years.

Ideally I want to get an old Mac desktop like an old Mini, and an old Macbook. 100 bucks each or less. How old they are, I don't care, I don't need huge power. But is the old OS safe to use online

Last edited:
C

chas_m

I appreciate the background on your style and budget, it's helpful in trying to give you advice, but a Mac -- even a pretty old one -- for $100 or less that I could say would be safe to use? Not going to happen.

XP was discontinued many years ago, so I'm not surprised to hear its giving you problems. Macs are much safer to use online (no viruses, low risk of malware), but frankly you'd be better off just getting a free recent one from someone who's upgrading versus getting one that is "worth" $100 -- those would be so old that they would be unsafe to use as well as frustrating for all the things they can no longer do.