Just a hello from a soon to be new Mac user

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2010 MacBook 2.4 8GB RAM
I thought I'd say hi. I hope this is an appropriate place to post since i couldn't see a specific welcome thread. I have recently ordered myself a refurbished Macbook Unibody (late 2009) as a device to play with to learn Mac OSX try it out for coding etc.

It will be my first Apple product ever. My husband has a Macbook pro and also uses both Mac and Windows devices and laptops and he enjoys having the best of both worlds. On the rare occasions I've tried to use his Mac I haven't a clue what I'm doing so I'm sure there'll be a few silly questions until I get used to it. I'm currently fairly heavily embedded in the Windows Ecosystem both at work and home and I don't plan to switch totally from PC's/Windows (I LOVE my Surface Pro 3 and the Macbook could not replace the functions I use it for) but to use them both for their strengths which can't be a bad thing. :)

I work as a scientist and information manager, between bioinformaticians who run Linux, avoid windows if at all possible and run it it on a Mac or dual booted on a linux PC if they have to, and lab scientists who only have access to Windows 7 PC's. I try to make tools that work on Windows for the lab scientists to use, so the Mac is to help me with that (coding in Python since that's really what I'm starting to get familiar with) to help me understand the other side of the argument so to speak..! And also I'm just curious anyway as Macs are interesting... and now, soon I will have one to learn about and looking forward to it.

M

MacInWin

Welcome to the forum! Come back you have any questions! You might want to read this thread for some very good advice on making that move.

OP
M
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2010 MacBook 2.4 8GB RAM
Welcome to the forum! Come back you have any questions! You might want to read this thread for some very good advice on making that move.