Photoshop image help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
-->
OK guys, I'm looking for some help or advice on how to proceed converting a .psd to a .jpg

I have a company logo that is in .psd format and it looks great. If I try to save it to a .jpg it adds a white background to the logo. Not sure why this is happening, and could use some assistance. I have zero experience with Photoshop, so talk to me like i'm 5!

TIA

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Air M2 ('22) OS 14.3; M3 iMac ('23) OS 14.3; iPad Pro; iPhone 14
OK guys, I'm looking for some help or advice on how to proceed converting a .psd to a .jpg

I have a company logo that is in .psd format and it looks great. If I try to save it to a .jpg it adds a white background to the logo. Not sure why this is happening, and could use some assistance. I have zero experience with Photoshop (PS), so talk to me like i'm 5!

Hi John - now, I've not used Photoshop in about 5 years (pre-retirement on a Windows PC) - are you doing the JPEG conversion from w/i the Adobe program or in some other manner? As I recall, the 'layers' in the PS have to be eliminated during these conversions and cannot be recovered.

But, one suggestion is to open the company logo and then do a screen capture using CMD-SHIFT-4 - this is saved as a .PNG file (and of course is compressed) - the file can be opened in Preview and the image size & resolution reviewed; in Preview, if you open the 'File' menu and press the Option key, a 'Save As' choice appears which will allow you to change image formats (not sure that upscaling to a different less compressed or lostless format will improve the quality - you'd have to test yourself). Dave :)

Reaction score
If the logo has transparent parts, saving to jpeg is a nogo. Otherwise you're stuck with the background.
Save it as .png or .gif depending on the use. You can do that from within Photoshop.
Jpeg does not support transparency.

OP
JohnCL
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
-->